A Joy to be Served

Standard

I come with joy to meet my Lord, forgiven loved and free, in awe and wonder to recall hid life laid down for me, his life laid down for me!


Today as we gathered together for our Moravian Ministry Association meeting we celebrated Holy Communion as those who serve our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  Something was different from this communion than most others that I participate in — I was served rather than having to serve.  Don’t get me wrong I love to serve and serving communion one of two sacrements in the Moravian Church it’s a scared and holy expereience to look into someone’s eyes as I had them the body of Christ or the blood of Christ broken and shed for us all.

However, as a Christian myself it is a joy to be served at times also.  To not have to focus on the details but to simply be.  Today we were served by 2 bishops of the Moravian Church – for those that don’t know bishops for the most part, their primary function, is to be a pastor to the pastors.  So I got served by two of my pastors and it did bring me great joy, allowing me renewed energy for the remainder of the week and to be reminded, I too and forgiven, loved and free. 

Thanks be God!

Leave a Reply

